Thanks from Exchange Club for ‘Field of Honor’ Contributions

The Exchange Club of Greater Newburyport would like to express our appreciation for all who contributed to a most successful 2017 “Field of Honor” on the Bartlet Mall.

Our up-front sponsors were:

  • The Institution for Savings Charitable Foundation
  • The Newburyport Five Cents Savings
  • Ned and Patty McGrath
  • Kathleen Bailey
  • Stone Ridge Properties Charitable Foundation
  • Murphy Construction Company, Inc.
  • Ipswich Bay Glass Company
  • Darling Consulting Group
  • Paul C. Rogers & Sons
  • Port Paint N’ Paper
  • The Blanchette Financial Group
  • Timberline Enterprises, LLC
  • Frank LaBarba of Nick’s Pizza
  • Essex Street Inn
  • Stem Chemicals, Inc.
  • Arthur S. Page Insurance
  • Haverhill Bank
  • Keiver-Willard Lumber Corp.
  • Fred and Mary Palen
  • Ancient Order of Hibernians (Division 1)
  • Seaport Signworks
  • Henry C. Becker Custom Building, Ltd.

In-kind sponsors of goods and services were:

  • Domino’s Pizza
  • Dugan Supply
  • WJOP 96.3 FM
  • Amesbury Industrial
  • The Black Duck Market and Deli
  • Loretta
  • Shaw’s Supermarket
  • Panera Bread
  • R.A. Nock Middle School
  • P.A. Wilkinson
  • Chococoa Baking Company
  • Bill and Gretchen O’Halloran
  • Bucciarelli’s Butcher Shop and Deli
  • Immaculate Conception School
  • Abraham’s Bagels and Pizza Bakery
  • Dunkin’ Donuts (Storey Avenue).

Ceremony participants were:

  • Emcee Mary Sortal
  • The U.S. Coast Guard Honor Guard
  • Major Todd Hughes of the Salvation Army
  • Soloist Ann Ormand of the Greater Newburyport Chamber of Commerce & Industry
  • Mayor Donna Holaday
  • Veterans Affairs Officer Kevin Hunt
  • Original sponsor Richie Eaton of the Newburyport Five Cents Savings
  • State Senator Kathleen O’Connor Ives
  • State Representative James Kelcourse of the First Essex District
  • State Representative Leonard Mirra of the Second Essex District
  • Keynote Speaker Richard MacCallum of the Pease Greeters who is a veteran of both WWII and the Korean War
  • Fusco family of West Newbury in recognition of departed Exchange Club member Anthony J. Fusco
  • “Book of Golden Deeds” recipients, Lucien and Judy Lacroix

Special thanks go to the Merrimack Valley Concert Band, which played patriotic medleys throughout the program under a grant from the Newburyport Cultural Council.

In addition to club members, readers of the “Verbal Wall” included:

  • Ted Jones
  • Councilor Ed Cameron
  • Past National Exchange Club President Bob Harb
  • Richie Eaton
  • Councilor Bob Cronin
  • Mark Quinlan
  • Judy Lacroix
  • Lucien Lacroix
  • Peter Zoltai
  • Councilor Charlie Tontar.


  • Ted Jones
  • Sue Hines
  • Holly Shay
  • Pam Girardi
  • Julia Collins
  • Heather Estep
  • Andy Griffith

filled in at the flag sales booth.

Also making the event possible was the Essex County Sheriff’s Department, which provided labor in setting up the flags, the Newburyport Department of Public Works, which set up the stage and provided Mall maintenance, and the Newburyport Fire Department, which provided night lighting and a representative unit at the ceremony itself.

Finally, deepest appreciation goes to all those who purchased flags to honor those who have served, whether military, fire, police, EMT or personal hero.

All proceeds from the “Field of Honor” go to the club charity account to provide services in the areas of Americanism, prevention of child abuse, youth activities and general community service.

As always, we appreciate the continued support.

Stuart Deane


Maria Iacono Memorial ACE Award Winner


Graduating Newburyport High School senior Samantha Lor accepts a check for $1,000 at the Starboard Galley from Exchange Club of Greater Newburyport President Claudette Beerman as the club’s Maria Iacono Memorial ACE Award winner for overcoming the obstacles in her life to achieve academic success.  Last month she was also awarded a $2,000 New England District Exchange Club ACE Award and a $500 Maria Beerman Community Service Scholarship at the New England District Convention in North Conway.  She is now under consideration for a $10,000 National Exchange Club ACE Award in Houston in July.  She finished 16th in her class and was a captain of the girls’ soccer team.  This fall she will attend Worchester Polytech Institute.

A.C.E Award Winner from Newburyport High School

The A.C.E. (Accepting the Challenge of Excellence) Award recognizes high school students who have had to overcome great physical, emotional, or social obstacles and are now eligible for high school graduation.

It is with great pleasure that the Exchange Club of Greater Newburyport presents this year’s ACE Award winner – Samantha Lor.    We learned very fast that the word can’t is not part of Samantha’s vocabulary. Samantha Lor is the first ACE candidate from Newburyport to achieve this recognition.      20160501_21322720160501_21303620160501_213003

Club wraps up busy ‘Abuse Prevention’ month

“Blue ribbons are widely recognized in child abuse prevention,” said Claudette Beerman, President of the Exchange Club of Greater Newburyport. “Up to 75,000 reports are made to DCF each year. Thanks to Barbara Griffith and her committee for putting up more than fifty Blue Ribbons on light posts to raise awareness of child abuse.”

Blue Ribbon 2016

Blue Ribbons. Jim Noyes, Andy Griffith, Kieran Joyce, Barbara Griffith and Stu Deane pose in Market Square with a sample ribbon.

Pett Check

Pettengill House. Executive Director Deborah Smith accepts the club’s donation of $1,000 from President-Elect Joe Murphy and President Claudette Beerman.

The annual presentation of stuffed animals and coloring supplies to local police and fire departments for use with children in stressful situations.

Teddy Bear Group II

Officers. Co-chair Erin Fournier, Groveland Detective Heather Riley, co-chair Tracy Garbers and Newburyport Inspector Mike Sugrue pose with sample stuffed animals at the Starboard Galley on April 19.


Presidents. Regional VP Cindy Harb of Plaistow, who is running for National President, President Claudette Beerman of Newburyport and New England District President Terry Rivard of Montachusett pause for a photo at the end of the meeting.